National Construction Code

The National Construction Code (NCC) “is an initiative of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) developed to incorporate all on-site construction requirements into a single code” (ABCB 2011).

The NCC comprises the Building Code of Australia (BCA) and the Plumbing Code of Australia:

  • Volume One: BCA (primarily Class 2 to 9 buildings)
  • Volume Two: BCA (primarily to Class 1 and 10 buildings)
  • Volume Three: Plumbing Code of Australia

National Construction Code Building Code of Australia Volume 1 coverThe BCA is published by the Australian Building Codes Board and has been updated and published since 1996, it has been published on an annual basis since 2004. The BCA is adopted by reference into each State or Territories building legislation.

Buildings need exit and emergency signs to identify parts of the accessible means of egress. An Accessible Exit Sign Project Initiative.

%d bloggers like this: